If you are mad with ASTRO try this free shows

If you are mad with ASTRO try this free shows

Source: Per kind favour of Mr Zorro -unmasked

I RECEIVED THIS EMAIL FROM HANTU:

HOI Z! If you reckon this is FRIVILOUS stuff, what I am sending you is a FREEVOLOUS breakthrough. This is especially for the legions of you who are mad at ASTRO. What follows is from one of my girl-friends who, until you guys can say that it works, will remain anonymous:

For those of you sick and tired of Astro and their nonsense, here is how you can watch TV programmes that you like when you like; with repeats only if you want a repeat; up to the latest season (sometimes within minutes of broadcast in the US) and most importantly, FREE.

Of course you need broadband internet services but that’s less of a monopoly now so save your Astro subscription money and put it into higher speed internet services.

I cancelled my Astro subscription 3 months ago after I found out that TV shows on Star World and AXN like House, Prison Break and Dirty, Sexy Money were available online for free.

I was missing a lot of TV shows because of their broadcast time slot. Star World was not repeating prime time programmes in the after-midnight slot but instead from 11am the following morning and over the weekend. All during times when I was not going to be able to watch them. The Astro programme promos also made me cringe. I was resenting the fact that I was paying good money for rubbish while Astro was bragging incredible profits. Also, there Astro View only listed programmes from 7am to midnight. 24hour TV but no 24hour programme guide. The electronic guide was useless too, as was the online programme guide. Just not possible to check when a TV show I wanted to watch would be on.

Then I accidentally stumbled upon streaming videos online for free. I finally got to watch the TV programmes that I want, when I wanted. I’m currently watching the 2nd season of Chuck (re-runs ad nauseum of Season 1 on AXN). Everything that I want is available, up to the current season – Bones, Criminal Minds, Numbers, The Closer, Psych, Grey’s Anatomy, the CSIs, House, Desperate Housewives, Reaper……

Surf The Channel, OVGuide and Cucirca as good sources of free streaming videos of TV episodes. Easiest way is to Google something like ‘Bones, Surf The Channel’ (rather than go to STC/ OVG to look for it). There will be a variety of sources for the streaming video eg Tudou, Youku, Megavideo.

Megavideo offers the best quality. There is a 72min limit per viewing for Megavideo (unless you subscribe to the premium service) but that is easily overcome by switching off your modem then switching it back on again. That will get you a new IP address which is how they track viewer’s minutes. Once back online, refresh the page, cue it to the moment where it was cut off and resume viewing. Or just do it everytime before you begin watching an episode of a show.

These are all light viewing programmes but I’ve watched a couple of documentaries online too like the one about the tree man of Indonesia and also something about conjoined twins.

Google under “free streaming video”. Some say free but there are still membership fees (pay fees then watch shows for free) – just ignore those. There are free TV shows available online. I found this out purely by accident while looking up info on how to download free music!!

Try it for a couple of weeks and if you don’t find that it’s better than Astro, I’d be surprised. At least it was free to try out!

  +++++

continue with Astro if you think this is freevolous

One Response

  1. […] https://sanooaung.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/if-you-are-mad-with-astro-try-this-free-shows/I cancelled my Astro subscription 3 months ago after I found out that TV shows on Star World and AXN like House, Prison Break and Dirty, Sexy Money were available online for free. I was missing a lot of TV shows because of their … […]

Leave a Reply

