Paradigms needed to be shifted for Myanmar Revolution

  Paradigms needed to be shifted

for Myanmar Revolution

I have edited and adapted to the Myanmar context from the original letter to Malaysiakini by KJ John .

I hope Malaysiakini and KJ John and could understand and forgive for this. They should even be proud that they could contribute a very good letter for the fellow Myanmar/Burmese citizens.

 

I remember that one human resources consultant who discovered that more than 99% of the SPDC Government employees even in Research and Development Department were ‘psychologically complaint personalities’.

Actually all the R&D organisations need staffs who challenges the paradigm; that is what the scientist, Thomas Kuhn, called the ‘structure of scientific revolutions’. Paradigms needed to be shifted for scientific discovery, not maintained.

How could anyone then undertake R&D within an organisation filled with complaint personalities?

I have started to speak and write against all those whom I believe lack integrity; the same principle I expect from of all my good friends who choose to criticize my views as well. I really believe that one’s credibility and integrity are a very good basis for all types of politics and an equal principle for integrity in our lives; for our every human action, and non-action.

The SPDC Public Services Department was no more interested in serving the public interest. She had lost her neutrality and had become blindly biased towards the Tatmadaw agenda, and often consequently, sacrificed national interest in the name of public interest.

Traditions of the British public service mindset that taught that all public servants were servants of the King and loyal only to the party in power so long as they served the national interest.

All of us seek to exercise our right as citizens? To me there is only one serious and core issue. After 60 years of independence, are we as a nation moving in the right direction? Do we consider that our feelings of national unity are better today than four years ago, before Tatmadaw’s coup? Are we cleaner today in terms of corruption and abuse of authority and power; in terms of the integrity agenda that Tatmadaw promised? Is protection and preservation of the environment better today? Are our water resources being better handled today?

My conclusion on the core issue for this general election therefore is – can we integrate this nation with integrity, under the current Myanmar Military model of leadership and governance? Sadly and disappointingly, my answer is a definite ‘no’. Tatmadaw’s uni-ethnicity has outlived her usefulness.

To build the nation, elimination of corruption and elimination of poverty at the ground level. We cannot continue to have a dominant team ruling the country and the rest behaving as if they were asking for scraps from the table. How low should a person stoop? We should be like brothers and sisters eating at the same table; sharing the food equally and even stopping occasionally to ask one another if they wanted more.

That is how I eat with my parents and my siblings at table; and that is how I think our nation should behave. Without the kind of behaviour now, we will never achieve excellence in our performance and real harmony among the people even if it took another 500 years. It is time now to ask, ‘Can I afford to chicken out on this?’

 I am encouraged that with each passing day I read of more and more readers voicing out against this despicable government. It is high time for the government’s antics be exposed and they butted out of their cushy offices. I need not state what many others have said to remind ourselves of their misdeeds led by one of the most hypocritical PMs we have ever known.

Do we like the direction this country is heading? Increasing military dominence and religious intolerance. Widespread corruption. Loss of competitiveness. Increasing inflation, dwindling purchasing power.

Leave a comment